The Parable of the Sower….

Standard

Today’s reading with the kids was out of Matthew 13.

I always thought that I was this kind of seed…

“And the one on whom seed was sown on the good soil, this is the man who hears the word and understands it; who indeed bears fruit and brings forth, some a hundredfold, some sixty, and some thirty” 13:23 NASV

After much prayer and asking the Lord to help me see my sin and repent, I have come to the conclusion that I am really this kind of seed.

“And the one on whom seed was sown among the thorns, this is the man who hears the word, and the worry of the world and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, and it becomes unfruitful.”

Now, I know many might say that I am being harsh. But really, what fruit have I produced? Am I not consumed with many things?

Yesterday I went to a women’s bible study with a group of women that I really don’t know yet, but am trying to get to know. I am very blessed that they are willing to share their thoughts with me, a virtual stranger. We were discussing our weaknesses and how the Lord can use our weakness. There were many different answers. I did not speak up. Why? Because I cannot speak without becoming tearful. It is so embarrasing to always want to cry when I am sharing my soul with others. But, I did come to the realization that I have not shared my testimony very often in the last 4 years. I have one on one, but never in a large group. Too terrifying. But the one or two times that I have has always been a blessing to me and others. My spiritual growth seems to have stopped about 4 years ago. I have not pushed myself outside of what is comfortable.

If I want to become the kind of Christian that hears the word, understands it, and bears fruit, I am going to have to give up those things that are keeping me from my Saviour.

I pray that the Lord will guide me and protect me as I try to remove the thorns from my life and that I will bear good fruit for my Lord.

One response »

  1. hey, you have given me something to think about. My world is pretty sheltered. My kids, my neighbors (who are saved) my few church friends…I’ve not shared my testimony lately. I’m starting to talk to a few people at church, but am having a hard time trusting because of what happened at our other church. God has grown us tremendously over the last 2 years, but there is a part of me that is cautious about reaching out to others…I need to involve myself in a weekly Bible study…yikes!! growing pains!!

Leave a Reply

