More parables…

Standard

“Do you not understand that everything that goes into the mouth passes into the stomach, and is eliminated?

“But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and those defile the man. For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, slanders.

“These are the things which defile the man; but to eat with unwashed hands does not defile the man.” Matthew 15:17:20 NASV

I started to realize that I actually thought that I was being a good Christian because I get up early almost everyday and read the bible and pray. These are good things, but, if after I do this I go on with my day thinking I can call it good then it becomes a ritual…A ceremony almost….

The Lord deserves so much more of my time…And what comes out of my mouth the rest of the day does not reflect that I spent time with Him.

I read an excerpt out of Amy Carmichael’s book If.

If I am depressed because others have spoken against me or don’t like me, then I don’t have Calvary love.(paraphase)

I asked my kids if they knew what Calvary love was. They didn’t. I had a hard time explaining it, and after trying to look up a bible verse, I couldn’t find one. I looked up Calvary on Google, and Wikipedia said that Calvary is an english based word for Golgotha, the sight of the crucifixion of Christ. Okay, many people already know this, but it was a good lesson for us. So we talked about how we can love like Christ did at Calvary. One of my children said that it was impossible. Do other people feel this way? I know that I feel that way a lot. But I have read many biographies about heroes of the faith that have. I find them very inspiring, and they always point to their Saviour, never wanting glory for themselves. When I feel like fighting back, I find myself seeing their faces and remembering their stories and realizing they were doing what Christ did in the bible.hand washing

One response »

  1. Hi Karen,

    I like your new blog, you’ve written some honest thoughts. I have read part of Amy Carmichael’s If and it’s very challenging. I ought to get it out when I get resettled and take a look at it again. It’s amazing the little things that can keep us from walking in the life of Christ if we don’t stay in the light. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

