Good Friday…

Standard

“And Jesus cried out again with a loud voice, and yielded up His spirit. And behold, the veil of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom; and the earth shook and the rocks were split.” Matthew 27:50-51

“When it was evening, there came a rich man from Arimathea, named Joseph, who himself had also become a disciple of Jesus. This man went to Pilate and asked for the body of Jesus. Then Pilate ordered it to be given to him. And Joseph took the body and wrapped it in a clean linen cloth, and laid it in his own new tomb, which he had hewn out in the rock; and he rolled a large stone against the entrance of the tomb and went away.” Matthew 27:57-60

The full depth of how this day makes me feel, I don’t think I could ever impart. We read this today together and talked about everything that happened to Jesus on this day. There are so many good lessons to be learned by Christ’s example, we spent about an hour talking about it. I really appreciated how the kids were affected by the words and that they really meant something to them.

When I think about the ending of that day, the stone being rolled in front of the entrance, it has a sense of finality. He finished the work on the cross that He came to do. And now, His disciples sit and wait. Wait for what? Did they remember His promise that He would rise again? The Pharisees certainly did, as they demanded a guard be placed in front of His tomb. I don’t think they did remember, they were so downcast. When the women came to the eleven disciples to tell them the good news, they thought it was nonsense.  The day that the stone was rolled in front of the tomb, was a day that reminds me of how I felt when my sins were heavy upon me. But on Resurrection Day, that day is filled with rejoicing, like the day that He wiped my sins away. He is Risen!

One response »

  1. i shudder to think about the price Jesus paid on my behalf. I gave an example to my kids that really touched their hearts. We have been talking about the sacrifice Jesus paid for us all week. Today we went to a Good Friday service at the new church we are going to and i was blessed to watch them listen to the sermon. I am hopeful that God is changing their little hearts into ones that want to serve Him. What greater mission field then being parents!!

Leave a Reply

