With God all Things are Possible….

Standard

I had two thoughts this morning during my bible reading. The first comes from Mark 10:17-27.  Jesus is talking with a rich man about what he can do to inherit the earth. The man claims that he has kept all the commandments since birth, and Jesus “felt a love for him…said to him, ‘One thing you lack: go and sell all you possess and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow me.” The man went away saddened. He could not give up all his wealth. That was impossible to him.

Jesus tells his disciples that “It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.” Well, the disciples were astonished! In their experience, if a man is rich, he is blessed by God and therefore he must be living a righteous life. So they ask Jesus, “Who then can be saved?” Jesus answered them “With people it is impossible, but not with God; for all things are possible with God.”

Thank you Lord Jesus for these great words of encouragement. If I try in my own strength, it is impossible. But in Christ, all things are possible.

The second thought comes a little further down in Mark 10 verses 46-52. Jesus has come to Jericho and is leaving Jericho. He is with His disciples and a large crowd. Along the road is a blind beggar named Bartimaeus. He hears (not sees) that Jesus is there and cries out, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”  “Many were sternly telling him to be quiet.”  Why were they telling him to be quiet? Were they embarrassed? Annoyed? Well, the blind beggar didn’t listen to them, he called out all the more. “Jesus stopped.” Now I know the blind man could not see that Jesus stopped, but to me that is a beautiful picture. The blind man is told “He is calling for you.” Bartimaeus throws his cloak aside and jumps up and comes to Jesus! Oh, this is so exciting! Would that I could see such a sight! Jesus asks “what do you want me to do for you?” The blind man said to Him, “Rabboni, I want to regain my sight.” Jesus said to him, “Go, your faith has made you well.” Here is another instance of an immediate healing. For the man “immediately regained his sight and began following Him on the road.”

Oh Lord, I pray that I would have such faith and courage. Help me Lord to call out to You and ignore those who are “sternly telling me to be quiet.”

Leave a Reply

