In the beginning, God…

Standard

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.

Genesis 1:1

Such a simple verse, but packed full of promise, wonder, and amazing love.

 

I grew up in a non-Christian home, had non-Christian friends and went to a non-Christian school. Oh, that’s right, all government schools are non-Christian…

Since I grew up with all of this non-Christian influence, you can imagine what kinds of things filled my head. The schools did their best to make me believe that I descended from apes, and that everything was created millions of years ago. I didn’t challenge this thought or even really think about it too much. In every science class there were posters plastered to the walls showing me how evolution brought us to modern man. You don’t believe in a literal 6 day creation, do you?

 

Even all these years later, I didn’t really think about how to teach creation to my kids, until recently. We homeschool our four kids and when it came time to purchase books for science, I was at a loss. Every resource I found had pictures of the big bang theory and the millions of years theory. It wasn’t until last year that I discovered for myself through the Bible, how to teach Creationism to our kids. Crazy, right?

 

I have been doing an inductive bible study by Kay Arthur for the last year, and I love the simple approach to it. I discovered that in the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. Well, that gave me such a big relief, that is where you start! In the beginning. Do I believe that God created everything, or not? Yes, I do believe that God created everything in 6 days. And on the 7th day He rested.

Thank you Lord for showing me that I need to know what I believe, and trust your Word. I do believe that You created everything under the sun and over the sun and around the sun.. You get the picture.

 

 

Sunset in Winter

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth

 

 

Leave a Reply

