Being a Useful Tool in His Hands…

Standard

Good morning everyone! It isn’t very sunny, or warm, but it is a good morning all the same. The kids are diligently working on their school work, while I dash across the room to help answer questions. Sounds stressful, right? I admit that sometimes I do not enjoy running back and forth.  Sometimes I get grumpy and huff around the room because there is something else I would rather be doing. That is really hard to admit. Ultimately, when that happens, I know that I am being selfish. Then I cry out to the Lord to help me be useful to Him. Isn’t that really cool? That I, in all of my sinful nature can actually be useful the Lord? It seems impossible. What is impossible for me is completely possible for Him.

My husband Rob and I have been praying about how we can be useful in our new town. It seemed at first that we were not going to be at a church here. All of the churches are quite liberal and the closest church we could find was across the state border into South Dakota. I can see how God sent us there to find our way to the path that we are on now. There are lots of good friends there and the kids really enjoy going there as well. So, what could make us want to give up all of the good feeling, comfortable church going?

About a month ago, we started going to a small bible study in the basement of a church here in our little town. The building will soon be sold and will no longer be a church. In that basement, we met a handful of Christians that really want to learn more about the Lord. I admit that I was surprised. But why should that be so unusual? We were invited by a friend that was already going to this bible study. The rest of the people in the group soon became equally as loved by us. One couple in particular has been a blessing to us. They are not lovely in appearance, not graced with social skills, but their love for the Lord is so evident. When I met them I knew the Lord was reaching in beyond my flesh and telling me that He  wanted me to love them. The most wonderful thing happened. I did love them. I get tears in my eyes when I think about them. They asked us every week to come and visit their church. We had heard from them that the church had decided to break away from the denomination that they were a part of. To us this was good news, so last week we did attend. The people there were so friendly and genuinely delighted to have us. We stayed for Sunday school and came back later that evening for the service. There was a potluck dinner afterward with more fellowship.

It is still our prayer for the Lord to give us guidance and direction as to how we can be useful to Him. To be a useful tool in His hands is a blessing that I can see being fulfilled soon. Thank you Lord Jesus for handing us this opportunity to grow in grace and love.

‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ Matthew 25:40 NIV

Leave a Reply

